I have a 3D printer!

I have a 3D printer!

I put my hands on a Printrbot Simple Metal!

I got it from a friend that is not using it anymore, thank you so much! I'm super exited to see it at work!

The Printrbot Simple Metal is an old 3D printer model, despite that it includes everything you need to get started in the world of 3D printing. This device uses a USB interface for a virtual serial comm port and It comes with Auto-Leveling bed.

Specifications

  • Build Volume: 15 cm x 15 cm x 15 cm

  • Print Resolution: 50+ Microns

  • Filament: 1.75 PLA

  • Hot End: 1.75 Ubis Hot End with 0.4mm Nozzle

  • Construction: Steel and Aluminum Body

  • Print Bed: Semi-Auto Leveling via Software, heated.

  • Belt: GT2

  • Pulley: Aluminum

  • Rods: 12mm

  • Product Weight: 6 Kg

  • Print Software: Compatible with Repetier Host and Pronterface

  • Finished Dimensions: 35.56 cm x 25.4 cm x 40.64 cm

  • Power Requirements: 12V (6 amp) ATX power supply

The motherboard is a Printrborad revision F4 (https://reprap.org/wiki/Printrboard).

Conclusions

The printer came with everything: power supply, Raspberry PI and lot of filament! I will soon set it up, what should I print first?